About Me

I was born and raised in Houston Texas. I spent my undergraduate career at Texas A&M University in College Station, majoring in mechanical engineering. I finished in 4 years and took some time while I was there to study abroad in Spain and take Spanish classes, earning my International Engineering Certificate from Texas A&M.

While at Texas A&M, I spent time doing research in several laboratories, including the Biomechanical Environments Laboratories, working on a biomedical simulation device, and the Laboratory for Control, Robotics, and Automation, working on a the development of a 7 degree of freedom upper-limb exoskeleton for stroke rehabilitation.

One of my favorite things to do in my free time is to tinker with electronics and see what I can do with small scale things such as raspberry pi and arduino. My first forray into Electronics was when I build a 2-wheeled balancing robot which I designed and 3D printed myself. I have built a box which displays and RGB LED matrix through Arduino, along with an accompanying library to handle more complex messages.

More recently, I have been interested in developing my robotics skills. For my graduate level robotics class, I 3D printed a 3 link servo-based robot and made an accompanying python gui to track the forward kinematics as I controlled it at the joint level. I then wanted to extend this project to use it with dc-motors to experiment with control algorithms in joint space as well as task-space so that I could experiment more with realtime control algorithms. Check out my under-development blog post for more information on this!

When I am not working on something engineering-related, I like to spend time outdoors, rock-climb, and play any kind of sports. My wife, Domenica, and I try to travel as much as we can, and love all aspects of food, including but not limited to cooking, baking, and most importantly eating. One of our favorite activites is making homemade pizza, and Domenica loves to bake, so there is never a lack of tasty food! We also enjoy spending time with our families and our dog Opie whenever possible.